Reading Response #2

             I found this question difficult to answer because as a home-schooler I did not have to worry as much about grades as other students.  I like to try to think outside the box and just have fun with projects.  That is one of the reasons I am excited about taking this class.  I don’t want to worry about passing or failing.  I’m taking this class to become a better artist. I want to learn about all types of art and different techniques.  This is a great opportunity for me to explore and see what I can do.  Of course, there is always that feeling that makes me want to impress the teacher, and I think young artists especially want people to like their work.  The “reward” doesn’t just come in the form of a grade, but can be approval or acceptance.  Any kind of pressure can suppress creativity.  It’s hard not to worry about what others will think of my work.  If I am struggling with an idea or feel stuck I like to talk my ideas out with family or friends.  It helps me to bounce things off someone and makes me feel less stressed about a project.  Plus if I talk through my ideas I usually end up working through my questions and sometimes coming up with better ideas.  If I can’t figure out how to make something work I don’t mind asking for input.  It is hard for students not to worry about grades when everything is graded and that is how students are rated.  My brother has an academic scholarship that he loses if he doesn’t keep high grades.  This affects what courses he chooses to take.  Our whole society is based on the reward system – whether it is grades, approval, recognition, or money.  Like the video was saying if everybody did things for free just to help others the world would have a lot more creative ideas.

Leave a Reply

