Books

One of the books that I just read was about a person who only had a few weeks left to live.  It was very moving and of course I cried when I read the sad parts.  I usually like to read comedies or mysteries; I did not realize this particular book was going to be sad when I read it.  Ultimately it was a really good story, and I am glad I read it, but it got me thinking about what I would do if I had but weeks to live.  I probably would not know what to do with myself.  Maybe I would not tell anybody that I was about to die.  I would want my last few weeks to be fun, and if everyone knew that I was about to die they would probably just be sad.  Well, maybe I would tell one person (I am really bad at keeping secrets).  They would have to be someone who did not cry and would help make my last few weeks the best.  Maybe in my last few weeks I would want to see all of my friends and family one more time.  Not to say good-bye, but just to sort of know that everyone remembers me and is all right for the time being.  And anyone who I could not see, I would write a letter to or call on the phone.  I would also want to fix any broken relationships because I would prefer it if people said nice things at my funeral.  Now this probably all sounds pretty boring, but I really am not the type of person who wants to go out and do something crazy before I die. Though I always thought it would be cool if someone found a letter that I wrote after I died.  It would have to say something really epic though.  I will start thinking about it later. Maybe someone will find this blog after I die.  That would be kind of funny too.  I am not sure that I would want to know if I were about to die.  But I guess if I knew if I only had a few weeks left to live, I would drive myself crazy making sure that I was ready.  Of course, being so young, it is hard to even imagine what my reaction would be and how I would really feel.  It makes me wonder how authors make up such good stories and write so well about things that haven’t happened to them.  And most authors don’t just write one book, they write a bunch of books!  I don’t know how they do it.  Well I guess it’s just lucky for me that they do because I enjoy reading them.  Well, some of them anyway.

Leave a Reply

